Skip to content

Student Awards 2024

28 June 2024
The EKC Sheppey College Student Awards 2024 recognises the students and staff that have worked hard throughout the past academic year.

Each year, we celebrate student achievements at our Student Awards, and this year was bigger and better. The campus was transformed into a dazzling disco-themed venue for the ceremony, which took place on Wednesday 26 June. 

The event featured vibrant decorations, including disco balloons, balloon arches, and medals for all the winners. Students and staff revelled in the fun atmosphere, celebrating the hard work, commitment, and personal achievements of our students throughout the year. 

One of the standout winners was Jack Lazarus, the Business Pathway Champion, recognised for his eagerness to engage in new projects and his successful transition from Level 1 Progression. Reflecting on his experience, Jack said: “I’ve loved what I’ve learned so far. From the trips, to the university interactions, studying here has given me a great idea of what I can go on to in the future.”  

Principal Alexandra added: “Jack moved into Business from Progression and has been on a real journey with us. He is well-respected and has taken on many projects, such as doing marketing in College and interacting with local stakeholders like the Dockyard Church.” 

Amelia Tindall (L), the Principal’s Champion for 2024, was thrilled to receive her award saying: “It was very overwhelming and quite a surprise at first to hear my name called out, as I thought I wasn’t nominated for any awards. It feels really good to be recognised for my achievements and it’s been a really fun day celebrating with my friends.” 

Amelia earned this award for her extensive involvement with the College, having previously served as Students’ Union President for 2022/2023.  

Joanne Lang, named Career Progression Student of the Year, joined the College as an adult learner after a recommendation from a volunteer group. Her confidence has soared during her course, and she now looks forward to working at a local nursery.  

“When I first started College, I was quiet and didn’t really talk that much, but now I’m able to talk in front of groups, new people, and feel confident in job interviews. Being here has given me experiences that have prepared me a lot, as you get to make your mind up about whether this is the career for you. For me it is, and I’m looking forward to the future” Joanne shared. 

Ayden Hodgson, the Pathway Champion for PSA (Personal Social Achievement), was honoured for his openness about personal experiences and his role as a motivational figure for other students.  

Principal Alexandra noted: “Ayden is open about his experiences and tries to encourage and motivate others, not wanting them to face the same challenges he has. He’s overcome so many obstacles and is an absolute pleasure to teach.” 

The ceremony concluded with the announcement of Thomas Allen (R) as the new Students’ Union President for the 2024/25 academic year. Thomas, a Creative Media student, aims to enhance Mental Health support across the College and has already begun planning future events.  

Fellow Creative Media student, Martin Goodsell (L), was named the new Student Governor. He will work with the Local College Board to ensure student needs are met and oversee College operations. 

To round off the ceremony, it was the students’ turn to award staff, in categories which they have been voting for across the last few weeks. Categories included ‘Funniest Staff Member’ and ‘Most Supportive’. 

Following the awards, students and staff celebrated with a festive party featuring a BBQ, live DJ, and refreshments. The Refectory and Support staff served hotdogs and burgers, while an on-site photobooth allowed students to capture fun memories with oversized props to take home as prints. 

A fantastic day was had by all, and Principal Alexandra expressed her delight in the day’s events, stating: “A big congratulations to all the students that have won awards at this year’s event. It’s been a great day. It’s been a real achievement to see all our students grow throughout the year and I can’t wait to see what our new and returning students achieve come September.” 

Award Categories and Winners:

Pathway Champions: 

Health and Social Care: Devon Wallace 

Early Years: Zanna Presneill 

Business: Jack Lazarus 

Public Services: Teagan Whitehouse 

Hairdressing: Cliona Sheehan 

Beauty: Binta Tamba-Stevens 

Progression: Jack Baxter 

Bricklaying: Ross Heppell 

Multi-trade: William Hilden 

Carpentry: Ciaran Chessell 

IT/Creative Media: James Barrett 

Maths: Kenzie Miller 

English: Christopher Greening 

PSA (Personal Social Achievement): Ayden Hodgson 

Special Awards: 

Community Social Action Champion: Sharna Wigglesworth 

Career Progression Student of the Year: Joanne Lang 

Students’ Union Student of the Year: Holly Middlewood 

Principal’s Champion 2024: Amelia Tindall

Staff Awards (Voted for by Students): 

Funniest Staff Member: Katie Chambers (Early Years Lecturer) 

Most Supportive: Aaron Gray (Construction Lecturer) 

Best Dressed: Tania Rea (Business Lecturer) 

Brainiest: Martin Owen (College Services Manager) 

‘Extra Mile’ Award: Aaron Gray (Construction Lecturer) 

Funmaker: Pasha Hughes (Student Experience Officer) 

Career Creator: Honey Neve (Careers and Progression Officer) 

Above and Beyond Award: Lindsey Black (Student Progression Mentor) 

The Sheppey College Student Awards 2024 has been a fantastic event, and a great way to celebrate the remarkable achievements of our students. We are proud of everyone’s hard work and dedication and look forward to seeing them continue to excel in their futures. The ongoing support from our community and staff has been invaluable, and we look forward to celebrating more student success.  

Learn more about life at EKC Sheppey College today.